New Zine – Sutures

Hey kids!

It’s been a little barren on the zine landscape the last couple of months but this is the week it’s going to change. Firstly, Mary-Helen has her amazing artwork up in the Degraves St subway in Melbourne RIGHT NOW as part of the Undiscovered Press exhibition courtesy of the Platform Artists Group. There are some amazing zine artists involved so I highly recommend you check it out. If not tomorrow, then definitely at the opening this Friday 12th February from 6-7pm. I don’t want to make undue use of hyperbole but I saw the aforementioned artwork with my own two eyes, and was left a changed woman.

Secondly, Sticky’s annual zine fair is being run this Saturday 13th February in City Square from 3-8pm. Now reliable sources tell me that this is not the same as Federation Square but seeing as I have no idea about Melbourne landmarks either way…

Anyway, I’ll finally have a new zine for the fair which has been in the making since last July.

A5, 40 pages, b/w

I’m not going to lie to you, this is a personal zine of the most self-indulgent variety. Inspired by my mother’s recent move back to Lebanon, it’s a record of my parent’s memories of Beirut during the Lebanese civil war, a meditation on the role nationality has played in my life, an attempt to reconcile all the little parts of my life in light of her departure, and lots of other things as well. You can also play “See if you can find the mistake in page numbering” thanks to my butterfingers.

Of course, if you’re not going to be in Melbourne this weekend I am, as always, down with trades. Address details are to your right, otherwise I’ll put it up on Etsy as soon as I can!

And also, if you’ve read our zines and want to say hello this Saturday, please do! We (by that I mean I) may look incredibly socially awkward but we’re actually good people. Really.

x amanda [panda]

6 Comments

Filed under Exhibition, Stuff to do, Zine Fairs, Zines

6 responses to “New Zine – Sutures

  1. Hey Amanda & Meggs, I hope Melbourne is all good times!

    Amanda, I’ll send you my new zine to trade so it can greet you when you come back. ❤

  2. Excellent, I’ll send you one too! x Amanda

  3. Pingback: Festival of the Photocopier and other fun times « tiny paper hearts

  4. Havine seen and spoken to Amanda and Meggs at the zine fair, I can personally vouch for the fact that they are indeed VERY lovely people. And their sewn felt likenesses (that sat on the zine table) were remarkably accurate and adorable too.
    Well done Megs on your cabinet of wonderful work in the Undiscovered Press exhibition! – I was a changed woman after seeing the exhibition too 🙂

  5. And I really should spellcheck my comments before hitting the ‘submit comment’ button. D’oh.

  6. Thanks Michelle! We have to say your artwork was pretty damn special as well! x

Leave a Reply

