TiNA 2009 update!

Ok, so I intended to take all these photos and attend as many panels/workshops/launches as humanly possible and write this huge update about the annual This is Not Art festival in Newcastle but it didn’t quite work out like that. I camped at Tent City, and my tent collapsed every night because of my non-existent camping skills, my camera battery ran out on the second day and I got rained on repeatedly. BUT, I had an amazing time [most of the time].

A couple of the highlights included midnight swimming at the [absolutely freezing] Newcastle baths, the presentation by the Canberra and Sydney Dorkbots, the roundtable at Staple Manor about printing techniques and the Rizzeria, the Totoro’s Tea House Grand Opening on Friday night which featured an amazing lecture on disco called ‘You Can’t Stop the Musing’ by Craig Schuftan…

Craig Schuftan

…and some beautiful musical sets by Maddy and Pip. If you stop by the Tea House I recommend a pot of Earl Grey and Red Flower tea or the fruity iced tea.

Indie-Breaky Heart

The Great Gatsby Ball on Saturday night contained some excellent party times and it was heartwarming to see so many people make the effort to dress up. The Spelling Bee at The View Factory was pretty fun and the Sunday zine fair was, as always, completely packed and non stop selling/trading all day.

Below are our amazing felt doppelgangers made by the fetus!

Tiny Paper Hearts Stall.

I always look forward to the fair, it’s wonderful to see so many regular zinemakers turn up and I finally put some faces to the names of people I know from interstate. And there were so many lovely people that I met throughout the festival who also stopped by the table, which was really nice. If you traded or bought our zines, thank you! We’d love to hear from you if you picked up our zines, please let us know what you thought by emailing tinypapermail [at] gmail [dot] com. Or, if you didn’t get to make it to the fair you can always trade by mailing your zine to the address on the right.

And that’s pretty much it. I’m really really really happy to be at home with a proper shower and a warm bed but at the same time incredibly inspired. Although I have to say I think the zinemaking may be on hiatus for a little bit while I recover. Did anyone else catch anything amazing at TiNA?

x amanda

Leave a comment

Filed under D.I.Y., Festivals

Leave a Reply

